The NZIHL is the elite amateur league that was formed in 2005 to develop the sport in the New Zealand and to give the top players regular competition against each other and to allow them to improve the skill level of the game domestically as well become more competitive on the international scene.

The 5 teams in the NZIHL represent the 3 regions affiliated to the New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation, with 2 teams coming from the Auckland and Southern regions and one from the Canterbury region.

In August 2011 the NZIHL and the Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL) announced the formation of the Trans-Tasman Champions League. The Trans-Tasman Champions League will begin in 2012 and will be hosted in Australia, with the series shifting to New Zealand in 2013. The series will feature two teams from each the AIHL and the NZIHL each playing the others once with the winner being the team who finishes first in the round-robin standings. The two teams chosen from each league will be the regular season champions and the winner of the playoff. In a situation where the winning of both events is the same the runner up of the playoff final will be selected to represent their respective league.

Click here for the NZIHL Results and Standings >>>