The Canterbury Red Devils play in the New Zealand Ice Hockey League (NZIHL) which was formed in 2005. Located in Christchurch, the Red Devils are the 2009 NZIHL Champions and finalists in 2007 and 2008. With our already strong contribution to NZ ice hockey, we as a team aim to be the best ever national league side as well as the stronghold for our national rep teams. Read more >>>

The sport has been played in New Zealand for over 70 years and started in the South Island high country where farmers and farm workers played on frozen ponds and lakes. The first organised ice hockey tournament was played at Opawa, near Albury in South Canterbury in 1937 when Wyndham Barker gave a trophy called the Erewhon Cup. A meeting was held afterwards and the New Zealand Ice Skating Association formed. Ice hockey was always the poor relation in the NZISA and it wasn't until 1986 when the New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation was formed at a meeting at Lake Tekapo that ice hockey began to flourish. Read more >>>

The NZIHL is the elite amateur league that was formed in 2005 to develop the sport in the New Zealand and to give the top players regular competition against each other and to allow them to improve the skill level of the game domestically as well become more competitive on the international scene. Read more >>>

In 2010 the New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation entered into another exciting new era by introducing the New Zealand Junior Elite league (NZJEL) to the country. This competition runs along similar lines to the NZIHL competition and is made up of players U16 years of age.  The Junior Elite League will have 3 teams – Auckland, Canterbury & Southern. Read more >>>